Default Blog Page


Realtors® Announce Centennial-Year Leaders Northern Virginia Association of Realtors® Installs 2021 Board of Directors; Announces 2020 Awards


Directors-1 - cropped

Fairfax, VA – “We will ensure that our members have the best tools to provide our customers with the trust they have come to expect when they use a Realtor®,” said Derrick Swaak, partner and managing broker of TTR Sotheby’s International Realty in McLean during his Dec. 17 installation as 2021 president of the Northern Virginia Association of Realtors®.

Poised to guide the association during its Centennial year in 2021, Swaak will lead a 16-person board, also installed during the virtual ceremony, working on behalf of the organization’s 12,000+ Realtor® professionals in the Northern Virginia region.

Serving as the installing officer, Charlie Oppler, 2021 president of the National Association of Realtors® administered the oath of office to Swaak and the 2021 NVAR board of directors.

“NVAR is fortunate to have Derrick as our Centennial-year president with a focus on strengthening member value, driving innovation, and impacting the industry in a way that will enrich our community for the next 100 years,” NVAR CEO Ryan McLaughlin said. “Derrick exhorted his peers to ‘keep an open mind, always be improving, and be curious’ – and I am confident that adhering to these principles will enhance our role as professionals in serving the needs of the Northern Virginia community.”

In addition to installing its 2021 leaders and celebrating its 2020 volunteers, NVAR recognized its 2020 Realtor® of the Year, Affiliate of the Year, Leadership, Good Neighbor, Hall of Fame, Honorary Life Member and Special Recognition Awards noted below.

Awards and Recognition:

2020 Realtor® of the Year:
Christine Richardson, Weichert, Realtors® – Great Falls


2020 Affiliate of the Year:
Helen Krause, New World Title


2020 Leadership Award
Michelle Doherty, RLAH Real Estate – Arlington


2020 Good Neighbor Award
Gabriel Deukmaji, KW Metro Center – Arlington


2020 Special Recognition
Florence and Dan Daniels, Governmental Employees Realty Associates – Alexandria


2020 Hall of Fame Honors:
Larry Anderson, Fairfax Realty Select – Falls Church
Mary Bayat, Bayat Realty – Alexandria
Tim Taylor, NVAR Sr. Accounts Payable & Purchasing Agent


2020 Honorary Life Membership:
Pat Kline, Samson Properties – Chantilly

FullBoard-1 - cropped

2021 NVAR Board of Directors:


President | Derrick Swaak, TTR Sotheby's International Realty


President-Elect | Reggie Copeland, CR Copeland Real Estate, LLC


Secretary/Treasurer | Heather Embrey, Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate Premier


Immediate Past President | Nicholas Lagos, Century 21 New Millennium


Amina Basic, Keller Williams Realty


Miguel Calvo, Keller Williams Fairfax Gateway


Rob Carney, TTR Sotheby’s International Realty


Shelia Jackson, Long & Foster Real Estate


Casey Menish, Pearson Smith Realty


Roger Nakazawa, eXp Realty


Thai-Hung Nguyen, Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate Premier


Sherry Rahnama, RE/MAX Executives


Ken Tully, RE/MAX Allegiance


Marriah Unruh, Keller Williams Capital Properties


Dallison Veach, Veach Realty Group


Colleen Wright, McEnearney Associates


Photo Gallery:

·       2021 NVAR President Derrick Swaak

·       The 2021 Board of Directors

·       2020 Realtor® of the Year, Affiliate of the Year, Leadership, Good Neighbor

·       Honorary Life Member

·       Hall of Fame

·       Special Award

Featured Resources