A new Virginia law banning the use of handheld cellphones while driving goes into effect January 1, 2021.
Legislation passed during the 2020 Virginia General Assembly session makes it unlawful to hold a handheld communication device while driving a motor vehicle. Exceptions to the law are provided for individuals lawfully stopped or parked, those using the device to report an emergency and devices used in the performance of duties for emergency vehicles.
A violation is punishable by a fine of $125 for a first offense and a fine of $250 for a second or subsequent offense or if the violation occurs in a highway work zone.
Please visit the DRIVE SMART Virginia page at PhoneDown.org for more information and an F.A.Q. about the enforcement of the cell phone ban.