Default Blog Page


Congratulations to the 2020 NVAR Board of Directors!


New Board Members Announced at Convention

2020 Board of Directors at Convention

The NVAR Board of Directors consists of 16 volunteer leaders who meet regularly to make decisions about how best to invest member resources to implement the organization’s strategic goals. They work diligently to represent the needs of our members by delivering value through a variety of benefits, programs, products, services and events.

On Oct. 15, the 2020 Board of Directors were announced at the NVAR annual meeting during the opening session of the annual Convention and Trade Show.

Board nominations were accepted beginning in June. The nominating committee, which is appointed each year by the president of the board, selected candidates from the pool of applicants, and candidates were also added to the ballot by way of petition. Voting took place from Sept. 11 – Oct. 12. NVAR Bylaws provide that elected directors serve two-year terms, and the president appoints three members to serve one-year terms.

The board members who will continue their terms through the next year are: Nicholas Lagos (2020 President), Derrick Swaak (2020 President-Elect), Reggie Copeland (2020 Secretary Treasurer), Christine Richardson (2020 Immediate Past President), Rob Allen, Shirley Buford, Shelia Jackson, Peter Nguyen and Marriah Unruh. The four elected directors are: Amina Basic, Sherry Rahnama, Ken Tully and Dallison Veach. The three board members who were appointed by incoming President Nicholas Lagos are: Deborah Baxter, Heather Embrey and Thai-Hung Nguyen.

The 2020 Board of Directors will be installed at the 2019 Appreciation Awards & Installation Ceremony in December.

Nicholas Lagos
Century 21 New Millennium

Derrick Swaak
TTR Sotheby's International Realty

Reggie Copeland
Secretary Treasurer
CR Copeland Real Estate, LLC

Christine Richardson
Immediate Past President
Weichert, Realtors®

Rob Allen

Long & Foster Real Estate

Amina Basic
Keller Williams Realty

Deborah Baxter
Coppermine Realty

Shirley Buford
Long & Foster Real Estate

Heather Embrey
Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate Premier

Shelia Jackson
Long & Foster Real Estate

Peter Nguyen
TTR Sotheby's International Realty

Thai-Hung Nguyen
Better Homes & Gardens Real Estate Premier

Sherry Rahnama
RE/MAX Executives

Ken Tully
RE/MAX Preferred Properties, Inc.

Marriah Unruh
Keller Williams Capital Properties

Dallison Veach
Veach Realty Group


Featured Resources