Town Hall Notes


NV/RPAC Endorses Local Candidates in Arlington and Alexandria


Each year the Northern Virginia Realtors® Political Action Committee (NV/RPAC) Trustees, a group of dedicated Realtors®, evaluate candidates for office based solely on their positions on real estate related issues.

In Arlington, the Trustees voted to endorse and support the incumbent candidate, Board Member John Vihstadt (I).  A former member of the Arlington Planning Commission, Vihstadt understands the planning, zoning and development issues that impact the real estate industry in Arlington. As a member of the County Board he has listened to and sought out NVAR’s position on various issues including sign ordinances, accessory dwelling units, affordable housing conservation and short-term rentals.

In Alexandria, Vice Mayor Justin Wilson (D) earned the NV/RPAC endorsement in the mayoral race prior to the primary election in June.  A proven leader, Wilson is unopposed in the general election and continues to be supported by NV/RPAC. 

In the general election for Alexandria City Council, three candidates have received the support of the Trustees. Councilman John Taylor Chapman (D) and Councilwoman Redella “Del” Pepper (D), both incumbent candidates, have been longtime supporters of key real estate related issues in Alexandria. A well-qualified first-time City Council candidate, Elizabeth Bennett-Parker (D) also earned the endorsement of the NV/RPAC Trustees. This endorsement is based on her answers to the NV/RPAC local candidate questionnaire and questions posed by the Trustees during in-person interviews with each of the candidates.  Alexandria voters will choose six at-large candidates for City Council in the general election on November 6.

These candidates are chosen by fellow REALTORS® based on their support for our legislative priorities, not on their political party affiliation. NV/RPAC is a bipartisan voice in politics. The NV/RPAC Trustees review voting records and past positions taken by incumbent candidates and conduct interviews and review questionnaires answered by challengers for each of the offices on the ballot.

 Board Member John Vihstadt (I)  
  John Vihstadt
 Vice Mayor Justin Wilson (D) Justin Wilson
 Councilman John Taylor Chapman (D)    John Chapman
 Councilwoman Redella “Del” Pepper (D)    Del Pepper
 Elizabeth Bennett-Parker (D)    Elizabeth Bennett Parker
Featured Resources