Town Hall Notes


Do You Know Who and What is on Your Mid-Term Election Ballot?


You know November 6 is election day, but do you know what you are voting on? Ballots across our region include congressional races, two state constitutional amendments, local bond issues and races for local government offices.



Across our region the ballot includes the race for one of Virginia’s U.S. Senate seats between Senator Tim Kaine (D) and challenger, Prince William County Board Chairman Corey Stewart (R). 


Each of Virginia’s seats in the House of Representatives is also up for election.  Check with your local jurisdiction if you are unsure of your Congressional District.

8th District: Representative Don Beyer (D) is facing challenger Thomas Oh (R).

10th District: Representative Barbara Comstock (R) is facing challenger, State Senator Jennifer Wexton (D).

11th District: Representative Gerry Connolly (D) is facing challengers Jeff Dove Jr. (R) and Steven Porter (L).


Voters will consider two proposed amendments to the Constitution of Virginia. As required by law, both proposed constitutional amendments were first approved in two successive sessions by the General Assembly before being placed on the 2018 ballot. Ore information and full text may be found here:

Question 1: Should a county, city, or town be authorized to provide a partial tax exemption for real property that is subject to recurrent flooding, if flooding resiliency improvements have been made on the property?

Question 2: Shall the real property tax exemption for a primary residence that is currently provided to the surviving spouses of veterans who had a one hundred percent service-connected, permanent, and total disability be amended to allow the surviving spouse to move to a different primary residence and still claim the exemption?


On the ballot specific to Arlington County is one seat on the Arlington County Board and four proposed County bond questions.  Click here for a sample ballot for Arlington County.

Arlington County Board: Board Member John Vihstadt (I) faces challenger Matt de Ferranti (D)


Alexandria will elect the Mayor and all six members of the City Council on November 6. More information, including sample ballots for each school board district can be found at the Alexandria Board of Elections website.

Mayor: Vice Mayor Justin Wilson (D) is unopposed in the race for Mayor.

City Council: Voters may vote for up to six candidates from the following list of nine candidates on the ballot: Councilman John Taylor Chapman (D), Councilwoman Del Pepper (D), Canek Aguirre (D), Elizabeth Bennett-Parker (D), Michael Clinkscale (R), Kevin Dunne (R), Amy Jackson (D), Mark Schiffer (I), Mo Seifeldein (D).


Fairfax County has no local election in 2018.  The only item on the ballot in addition to the Congressional candidates and statewide amendments already highlighted is a single county bond issue relating to public safety facilities. Additional information including sample ballots for each of the congressional districts in Fairfax County may be found here:


The Mayor and Town Council are on the ballot for those voters located in the Town of Herndon. See a sample Ballot here.

Mayor: Mayor Lisa Merkel is unopposed in her reelection bid for Mayor of Herndon.

Town Council: Voters may vote for up to six candidates from the following list of nine candidates on the ballot: Vice Mayor Jennifer Baker, Councilmember Grace Wolf Cunningham, Councilmember Signe Friedrichs, Councilmember Bill McKenna, Councilmember Sheila Olem, Cesar Del Aguila, Pradip Dhakal, Sean Kenis Jr., Joe Plummer, Roland Taylor.

Featured Resources